The NHL Releases Lists of Protected Players

Photo Credit: Getty Images
At 10:30 a.m. on Sunday morning (for some unholy reason they announced at 9:59 that it was pushed back half an hour), the protected player lists for each team was released to the public. While some teams opted to release their lists on Saturday, the majority were revealed Sunday morning. The Vegas Golden Knights will have until 10 a.m. on June 21 to submit their selection list to the league. Their choices will be announced at the NHL Awards that evening (hosted by Pittsburgh's own Joe Manganiello).

Here are your protected Pittsburgh Penguins:

Sidney Crosby (F)
Patric Hornqvist (F)
Phil Kessel (F)
Evgeni Malkin (F)
Brian Dumoulin (D)
Kris Letang (D)
Olli Maatta (D)
Justin Schultz (D)
Matt Murray (G)


Josh Archibald (F)
Nick Bonino (F)
Matt Cullen (F)
Jean-Sebastien Dea (F)
Carl Hagelin (F)
Tom Kuhnhackl (F)
Chris Kunitz (F)
Kevin Porter (F)
Bryan Rust (F)
Tom Sestito (F)
Oskar Sundqvist (F)
Dominik Uher (F)
Garrett Wilson (F)
Scott Wilson (F)

Ian Cole (D)
Frank Corrado (D)
Trevor Daley (D)
Tim Erixon (D)
Cameron Gaunce (D)
Ron Hainsey (D)
Stuart Percy (D)
Derrick Pouliot (D)
Chad Ruhwedel (D)
Mark Streit (D)
David Warsofsky (D)

Marc-Andre Fleury (G)

The complete list of the league's protected players can be viewed here.

What are your thoughts? Anyone freaking out about Rust or Hagelin? Or (one of my favorites) Ian Cole? Or scratching your head over Olli Maatta? Or we all largely unfazed because the writing's on the wall for Fleury? Sound off in the comments!

Share on Google Plus

About Stacey Miller

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment